Cotton: The Biography of a Revolutionary Fiber

Etukansi
Penguin, 2006 - 398 sivua

In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky's Cod and Salt, this endlessly revealing book reminds us that the fiber we think of as ordinary is the world's most powerful cash crop, and that it has shaped the destiny of nations. Ranging from its domestication 5,500 years ago to its influence in creating Calvin Klein's empire and the Gap, Stephen Yafa's Cotton gives us an intimate look at the plant that fooled Columbus into thinking he'd reached India, that helped start the Industrial Revolution as well as the American Civil War, and that made at least one bug--the boll weevil--world famous. A sweeping chronicle of ingenuity, greed,  conflict, and opportunism, Cotton offers "a barrage of fascinating information" (Los Angeles Times).

 

Mitä ihmiset sanovat - Kirjoita arvostelu

LibraryThing Review

Käyttäjän arvio  - ASBiskey - LibraryThing

My wife, who usually doesn’t read non-fiction, read this book and enjoyed and recommended it. I wear cotton every day. Almost every piece of clothing I own is cotton, because cotton is comfortable ... Lue koko arvostelu

LibraryThing Review

Käyttäjän arvio  - mnicol - LibraryThing

The first eight chapters are brilliant. The best integrated account I have read of cotton, weaving, technology and the essential contribution of slavery to the industrial revolution. The ninth chapter ... Lue koko arvostelu

Sisältö

Preface
1
Spun in All Directions
9
Star Turns
25
The Barber from Preston
39
Revolutionary Fiber
70
Southern Exposure
147
Changing Fortunes
173
TwoHorse Power
202
The Shirt on Your Back ELEVE
270
Fields of Conflict
305
Afterword
338
Glossary
345
Bibliography
375
Acknowledgments
381
Tekijänoikeudet

Muita painoksia - Näytä kaikki

Yleiset termit ja lausekkeet

Tietoja kirjailijasta (2006)

Stephen Yafa, a novelist, playwright, and award-winning screenwriter, has written for Playboy, Details, Rolling Stone, and the San Francisco Chronicle.

Kirjaluettelon tiedot