Sivut kuvina
PDF
ePub

State of the BAROMETER, in inches and decimals, and of Farenheit's THERMOMETER, in the open air, taken in the morning before sun-rise, and at noon; and the quantity of rain-water fallen, in inches and decimals, from March 26. to April 25. 1810, in the vicinity of Edinburgh.

[blocks in formation]

High Water at LEITH.
For MAY.
Morn.

Days.

Tu. 1

W. 2

Th. 3

Fr. 4

Sa.

5

Su. 6

M.

7

Tu. 8

W. 9

Th. 10

Fr. 11

Sa. 12

Su. 13

M. 14

Tu. 15

W. 16

Th. 17

Fr. 18

Sa. 19

Su. 20

M. 21

Tu. 22

W. 23

Th. 24

Fr. 25

Sa. 26

Su. 27

M. 28

Tu. 29

W. 30

Th. 31

H. M.

0 35

1 22

2 0

May 7. Duchess of York born, (1767.)
12. Court of Session sits

17. Princess of Wales born, (1768.)
General Assembly sits

-.

19. Queen Charlotte born, (1744.)
22. Princess Elizabeth born, (1770.)

2.37

3 11

3 45

4 19

4 55

5 37

6 19

7 13

8 19

9.29

10 34

11 32

0 48

1 35

2 22

3 9

3 56

4 42

5 33

6 28

7 27

8 33

9 42

10 46

11 43

0 10
057

Even.

H. M.

0 59

1 41

2.20

255

3 29

4 3

4 37

5 16

5 56

6 46

7 47

8.54

10 3

11 3

11 58

0 23

1 12

1 58

246

3 32

4 20

5 7

5 59

6 56

7 58

9 6

10 15

11 43

0 34 1 17

MOON'S PHASES

For MAY.

Apparent time at Edinburgh.

D. H. М.
New Moon, 3. 2. 30. aftern.
First Quart. 11. 4. 24. aftern,
Full Moon, 18. 12 S3. night.
Last Quart. 25. 8. 3. even.

[ocr errors][ocr errors]
[graphic]

THE

Scots Magazine,

AND.

EDINBURGH LITERARY MISCELLANY,

FOR APRIL 1810.

Description of CRAIGCROOK Castle. AIGCRO AIGCROOK CASTLE, a view of which, from an original drawing by John Clerk, Esq. of Eldin, the venerable author of the Naval Tactics, is prefixed to our present number, is situated at the foot of Corstorphin hill, in the parish of Cramond, about three miles N. W. of Edinburgh. The beauty of the hill, now covered to the top with trees, the fine view towards the Frith of Forth and the coast of Fife, and the rural and retired eharacter of the country round, render it as desirable a residence as any in the vicinity of Edinburgh.

The lands of Craigcrook appear to have belonged, at an early period, to the noble family of Graham, By a deed, bearing date 9th April 1362, Patrick de Graham, lord of Kinpunt, and David de Graham, lord of Dundaff, make them over to John de Alcrum, burgess of Edinburgh. Allycrum immediately settled them on chaplain officiating in the church of St Giles's, at the altar of the Virgin Mary, and his successors, to be nomied by the magistrates of Edinburgh. He seems to have expected great virtue from this donation, since he states it to be for the salvation of the souls of the late King and Queen, (Robert and Elizabeth) of the present

king (David,) and of all their predecessors and successors; for the salvation of the souls of all the burghers of Edinburgh, their predecessors and successors; of his own father and mother, brothers, sisters, &c., then of himself and his wife, and finally of all faithful souls deceased. The rental of Craigcrook, in 1368, amounted to £.6..6..8, Scots per annum, and eight years after, it was let, at that rate, in feu farm, to Patrick and John Lepers. In this way, it passed through several hands till 1540, when, probably in consequence of the Reformation, it was no longer used for the same pious purpose. The lands were then made over by Sir Simon Preston of Craigmillar, Lord Provost, to Sir Edward Marjoribanks, prebend of Craigcrook. They were then possessed for half a year by George Kirkaldy, brother of Kirkaldy of Grange, Lord High Treasurer, who engaged to pay £.27..6..8, Scots. In June 1842, they reverted to Marjoribanks, who immediately assigned them in perpetual feu-farm and heritage, to William Adamson, burgess of Edinburgh. This gentleman had accumulated very extensive property in the neighbourhood, extending from Craigleith to Cammo, and including Grotthill, Craigcrook, Clermiston, Southfield, and part of Cramond Re

gis. By him, or by one of his immediate successors, was probably built the castle of Craigcrook, which Mr Wood, in his learned and curious history of Cramond, looks upon as the most ancient edifice in the parish. Adamson was killed at the battle of Pinkey, 10 Sept. 1547. He was succeeded by his son William, and the lands continued to pass through his heirs for several generations, till, in 1656, they came into the hands of Robert Adamson, who soon after sold, to different persons, the whole of his property in the parish of Cramond.Craigerook was purchased by John Mein, merchant in Edinburgh; whose son Patrick sold it to John Hall, afterwards Lord Provost of Edinburgh. This gentleman was created a baronet 8th October 1687, and is ancestor to the present Sir James Hall. Having acquired the extensive property of Dunglass in East Lothian, he sold Craigcrook to Walter Pringle, advocate, whose son John disposed of it to John Strachan, W. S. Mr Strachan died about the year 1719, and left the whole of this property, with North Clermiston, and all the rest of his fortune, both in land and moveables (except some small sums to his relations) mortified for charitable purposes.The regulations were, that the rents should be given to poor old men and women and orphans; that the trustees should be "two advocates, two writers to the signet, and the Presbytery of Edinburgh, at the sight of the Lords of Session, any two of their number," for whose trouble 100 merks yearly is allowed. There is also allowed to the Advocates' poor 50 merks Scots, and to those of the Writers of the Signet 100 merks; also twenty pounds annually for a Bible to one of the members of the presbytery, beginning with the moderator, and going thro' the rest in rotation. This deed is dated 24 September 1712. The persons the eby constituted trustees, ha

ving held a meeting, entered into ré solutions respecting several points which had not been regulated in the will. They appointed a clerk and factor at twenty pounds a year, to receive and pay the money, and keep the books. They fixed, that no old person should be admitted under the age of sixty-five, nor any orphan above the age of twelve, and that no annuity should exceed five pounds.

It has been asserted by tradition, that a murder was committed in the house of Craigcrook, but this is a mistake. One of Mr Strachan's servants, indeed, of the name of Helen, was murdered, not however in the house, but in her way to it. Two men, William Thomson and John Robertson, who accompanied her from Mr Strachan's house in Edinburgh, having arrived below the castle, threw her over the steps, after which they returned and robbed the house. The crime remained undiscovered for some weeks, till suspicions arising against Thomson, he was taken up, and having confessed all, was executed with his accomplice.

We have said, that Craigerook is of considerable antiquity. Over the outer gate of the court yard is the date 1626, and a shield of arms, on which appears to have been the armorial bearing of the Adamsons. Mr Wood however is of opinion, that Craigerook is of higher antiquity than this, and that it was built early in the sixteenth century.

Craigcrook Castle, and adjoining fields, were let in the year 1736 on a lease for ninety-nine years, on which they are now possessed, by Mr Constable, Bookseller in Edinburgh. Mr Constable has made very great improvements, both in the house and grounds adjoining Without injuring the appearance of antiquity in the former, he has rendered it completely commodious and agreeable as a modera residence.

« EdellinenJatka »