« EdellinenJatka »
March 19. by Henry VIII. to Edward Earl of HertThemaccompanying view of the form beloThe chief part of the manor Mary, Devonsbire, (see Plate 1.) is
“ The situation of this town is exfrom the elegant pencil of the late tremely pleasant and healthy. The prinWilliam Alexander, esq. F.S. A. whose cipal building is the Church, which is talents and virtues you have so, justly in its construction. On each side is a
very large, and has many singularities commended in vol. LXXXVI. ii. pp.
square tower, opening into the body of 279. 369.
the Church, and forming two transepts, The following particulars are ex- as in Exeter Cathedral. The towers are tracted from the *Beauties of Eng- furnished with pinnacles, and open batland and Wales;"
tlements; that on the North bas also a “ Ottery St. Mary is a large irregu- small spire. At the North-west corner lar market town, deriving its name from is a richly ornamented Chapel. built by the river Otter, and the dedication of Bp. Grandison ; the roof of which is cothe Church to St. Mary. Edward the vered with bigbly-wrought fan-shaped Confessor, or Earl Otho *, gave the ma- tracery. The interior of the Church is por to the Cathedral of St. Mary at sadly neglected ; many of the monuRouen, in Normandy; but in the reign ments are broken, and various parts of Edward III. the Dean and Chapter, filled up with lumber. The altar screen with the King's permission, sold it to is of stone, finely carved into niches and Grandison, Bp. of Exeter, who founded tabernacle work, but this is partially a College in the parochial Church bere, covered with boards, and painted. On * for a Warden, eight Prebendaries, ten the South side of the communion table Vicars, a Master of Music, a Master of are three stone seats, rising one above Grammar, two parish Priests, eight Se
another. Most of the windows are narcondaries, eight Choristers, and two row, and lancet-shaped.” Clerks to' At the dissolution, the en. In 1811, Ottery St. Mary contained dowments were valued at 3381. 2s. 9d. ; 583 houses and 2880 inbabitants. and the site of the College was granted Yours, &c.
S.R.N. * Dugdale's Monàsticon, II. p. 1017. + Tanner's Notitia.
COMPENDIUM, OF COUNTY HISTORY.
• Bingham, 1700.
Ireton, Henry, regicide, son-in-law to Cromwell, Attenborough, 1611.
1653. Rooke, Major Hayman, historian of Sherwood forest, antiquary, (died 1806.) Sampson, Henry, divine and physician, South Leverton, (died 1705.) Sandby, Paul, painter, Nottingbam, 1732. Sandey, Thomas, architect, Nottingham, 1721. Scarlet, Will, companion of Robin Hood, Eykering, (fior. temp. Henry III.) Secker, Thomas, Abp. of Canterbury, Sibthorpe, 1693. Stone, Richard, Abp. of York, Mansfield, 1596. Thoruton, Dr. Robert, historian of this county, Screveton. Truman, Josepb, nonconformist divine and author, Gedling, 1631. Wakefield, Gilbert, classical scholar, Nottingham, 1756. WARBURTON, WILLIAM, Bp. of Gloucester, author of “Divine Legation," Newark,
1698. White, Henry Kirke, poet, amiable and pious, Nottingham, 1785. White, Robert, astronomer, Bingbam, 1722. Worksop, Robert, author of “ Entrance of the Sentences,” Worksop, (died 1360.) Wright, Samuel, divine, author of “Happy hour, all hours excelling,” Retford, 1683.
MISCELLANEOUS REMARKS. In Averham Church are several monuments of the Suttons, among which is the memorial of the first Lord Lexinglon.
In Bilsthorpe Church is the monument of William Chappel, Bp. of Cork and Ross, 1649.
In Bingham was buried its native, Robert White, author of “The Celestial Atlas," an almanack which still retains his name, 1773.
Ja Bramcote was buried its native, Henry Handby, benefactor, 1650. Gilbert Wakefield attempted to establish a school here, but without success.
In Bunney Church is a curious monument of Sir Thomas Parkyns, erected in his life-time, with a representation of the Baronet in one part in a wrestling attitude, and in another part as just th-wn by Time, with an inscription ascribed to Dr. Freind :
“ Quem modo stravisti lungo in certamine, Tempus,
Hic recubat Britonum clarus in orbe pugil
De te etiam victor, quando resurgat, erit.”
Io Clumber park, among oumerous fine paintings, is the “Sigismunda weeping over the heart of Tancred,” ascribed to Correggio, but by Horace Walpole atiributed to Furino, with the remark, that “it is impossible to see the picture, or to read Drydeo's inimitable tale, and not feel that the same soul aniinated both.” Hogarth, in an attempt to rival it, miserably failed. The state dining-room, 60 feet long, 34 broad, and 30 bigh, is magnificently oroamented. The park is 11 miles in compass.
Gotham is fainous in proverbial story. “ The Merry Tales of the Madmen of Gotham" were written by Andrew Borde, “ Andreas Perforatus," a tra
velling velling quack, with whom originated the term of “Merry Andrew." The tale most celebrated is a pretended attempt to bedge in a cuckoo; and there is still a bush at Court-field, in this parish, called the “Cuckov Busb.” “Gotham" is the title of one of Churchill's satires. It was the rectory of John Lightfoot, the botanist, author of “ Flora Scotica.”
Gryesley parish is the largest in this county, it is said to be 20 miles in circumference. The vicarage was the first ecclesiastical preferment of the learned Bishop Warburton.
In Holme Pierrepoint Church are monuments of the noble family of the Pierrepoints, and a memorial of Jobo Oldham, satiric poet, 1682.
In Houghton were buried its illustrious patives, John Holles, first Earl of Clare, 1637, and Denzil Lord Holles, one of the five members demanded by Charles I. 1680.
In Huckpall Torkard Church are monuments of the Byrons, of whom the brave Richard first Lord Byron, with his seven brothers, all bore arms for their unfortunate king.
In Kilbam Church is a richly-wrought monument of the last Lord Lexing. ton and his lady; but their effigies are strangely placed back to back.
At Kingston upon Severn was the seat of Authony Babington, conspirator against Elizabeth, executed 1586. In the Church is a curious monument of one of this family, adorned with upwards of 200 heads of a babe in a tun.
Langar was the seat of the brave veteran, Admiral Earl Howe. In the Church are many monuments of the Scroopes, one of which, for Lord Scroop wbo died 1609, is very elegant.
lo Lenton and Wilford, ihe Churches, and alınost all the houses, were swept down by a tremendous hurricane, accompanied by thunder and hail, July 7, 1558.
Mansfield was the frequent residence of our early Norman Kings, who were extravagantly fond of the pleasures of the chase, which they enjoyed in the surrounding forest of Sherwood. A ballad of " The King (said to be Henry II.) and the Miller of Mavsfield,” is preserved in Percy's “ Reliques," and is ibe subject of two dramatic entertainments by Dodsley. The Church was considerably injured, and thegreater part of the town destroyed by a fire in 1307.
lo Markham East Church is the inonument of the upright judge Sir Joho Markham, 1409.
In Newark Church is a curious brass, engraved in Gough's “Sepulchral Monuments,” of an ecclesiastick, supposed to be Alan Flemyog, the fouoder of the Church in the time of Heory VII.
Nottingham, softened from the Saxoo Soottingham, denoting the place of caves, gives name to the county, and the town is also a county in itself. Nov. 1, 1785, here was observed one of the largest water-spouls ever seen in Eng. land. Feb. 7, 1795, a great food, when the damage done on the river Treot was estimated at above 1,000,0001. The present castle was fouoded by the Duke of Newcastle io 1674. Over the principal entrance is a fine equestrian statue of the fouoder, sculptured by Wilson out of one solid block of stone brought from Donnington, in Leicestershire. Marshal Tallard, laken prisoner by the Duke of Marlborough at Blenheim, Aug. 13, 1704, resided in this town; and here Gilbert Wakefield vainly endeavoured to establish a school. St. Peter's was the rectory of John Plough, author of the “ Apology for Protestants.” In the Church was buried John de Plumtre, founder of the hospital that bears his pane ; and in the church-yard, Charles Dering, physician, and historian of the town.
Ordsall was the rectory of Dr. Marmaduke Moor, whose living, was sequestrated by the Parliament in 1652 for the heinous offence of playing at cards three several times with his own wife !
lo Ossington is a magnificent mausoleum to the memory of the late Mr. Dennison, who acquired a very large fortune by the woollen trade at Leeds.
Owthorpe-hall was built by, and was the residence of, the regicide Colonel Julius Hutchinson, Governor of Nottingham Castle, whose " Memoirs," written by his interesting wife, have been published by one of his descendants. lo the Church are several monuments of this family.
At Papplewick, the seat of his friend Mr. Frederick Montague, Masou composed a great part of his “ English Garden.”
lo Radcliffe on Trent Church is a wooden effigy of its founder, Stepheo Radcliffe.
Rufford Abbey was oftea visited by James I. and Charles I. and was the residence of the patriotic Sir George Saville, member for Yorkshire. It contains numerous portraits and other paintings.
Screveton was the residence of Dr. Thoroton, the historian of this county. At Scrooby was a palace of the Archbishops of York.
Sherwood forest was the principal haunt of the famous outlaw Robin Hood, with his “merry men.” Tbe collection of ballads, entitled “Robin Hood's Garland,” is universally knowo. Ritson bas displayed his usual acumen and research in illustrating his bistory.
At Southwell are held two annual synods of the clergy of this county. Stapleford-hall was rebuilt about 1797, by its gallant proprietor, the Rt. Hon. Admiral Sir John Borlase Warren, Bart. G. C.B.
Sutton in Ashfield was the vicarage of the facetious and pathetic Lawrence Sterne.
Thoresby-park house, burnt down March 4, 1745, was shortly afterwards rebuilt by the Duke of Kingston. The park is 13 miles round.
Tuxford towo was almost entirely destroyed by fire, Sept. 8, 1702.
Warsop was the rectory of Dr. Samuel Halifax, afterwards Bp. of St. Asaph, and Richard Southgate, numismatist.
Welbeck Abbey contains many interesting portraits. The riding-house was built in 1623 by ihe brave and loyal William Cavendish, Duke of Newcastle, author on horsemanship, who also erected the stables, 130 feet long, by 40 broad, in 1625. The park is eight miles round.
In Whatton Church is the monument of Thomas Cranmer, father of the martyred Abp. of Canterbury, 1501.
In 'Wollaton Church are several ancient and handsome monuments of the Willoughbys. The hall was built from his own plao, by Sir Francis Willoughby, in the reign of Elizabeth, with stone brought froin Ancaster, in Lincoloshire. It contains several fine paintings and interesting portraits.
Worksop ancient manor house was burnt down in 1761, when the loss in paintings, statuary, books, and furoiture, was estimated at more than 100,0001. It was quickly rebuilt ; architect Payne ; its front 318 feet long. It contains many valuable paintings, and the bed, of silk damask, on which bis present Majesty was born in Norfolk-house, London, May 24, 0. S. 1738. The lord of this manor presents an embroidered glove, which the King puts on his right hand immediately before he receives the sceptre at bis coronation. Remarks on the Signs of Inns, &c. at Lichfield, 1726. Acted at school (Continued from p. 216.) the part of Serjeant Kite, in “ The
Recruiting Officer," 1727. Became every considerable town, near a pupil to Johoson, at Edial io Stafto the Theatre, is to be fouod a fordshire, 1735. Travelled to Lon“ Shakespeare" Coffee-house, and of. don with his great and good tutor, teotimes a “ Garrick's Head.”
and was entered Student of Lincolo'sAs the life of this most celebrated inn, 1736. Finished his education of English actors is to be met with in under Mr. Colson at Rochester, 1738. every Biographical Dictionary, and Haviog visited an uncle at Lisbon, has been written at large by Davies, a by his advice he entered into business contemporary performer, I shall cou. with his brother Peter Garrick, as fine myself to a mere chronological Wine Merchants, iu Durham-yard, relation of the principal events, re- London ; but soon relinquishing this lieving the dryness of such a detail by employment, he joined a company of inserting some occasional jeux d'esprit performers at Ipswich, and made his and short poetical pieces.
first appearance under the assumed David, ibe son of Captain Peter name of Lyddel, in the character of Garrick, was born at the Angel lon, Aboan in Oroonoko, in the summer Hereford, where his father was re- of 1741 ; and on Oct. 19th of the cruiting, in February 1716. Was same year he first trod the London placed under the care of Mr. Hunter, boards at Goodman-fields Theatre, master of the Free Grammar-school under the management of Mr. Gifford,